Back to Top
Home » , » Basirhat Alipurduar Jhargram & Asansol-Durgapur – New Districts of Bengal

Basirhat Alipurduar Jhargram & Asansol-Durgapur – New Districts of Bengal

Dividing existing districts and making new Districts in West Bengal - proposal has been presented to Government of West Bengal in August 2012. As per the news, few districts of West Bengal would be added in the map of West Bengal sooner or later by dividing existing Districts of West Bengal. Let’s check out what are the new district names of West Bengal that were proposed in August 202.

Basirhat District of West Bengal: - North 24-Parganas district could be divided into two districts named ‘North 24-Parganas’ and the new one ‘Basirhat’. Basirhat District (Zilla) will have ten Blocks and the Block names under Basirhat District of West Bengal would be – Basirhat 1, Basirhat 2, Baduria, Swarupnagar, Sandeskhali 1, Sandeskhali 2, Haroa, Minakha, Hingalgunj, and Hasnabad. There will be two ‘Mahakuma’ in Basirhat District of BengalBasirhat Sadar Mahakuma and Minakha Mahakuma. Basirhat Sadar Mahakuma will have six blocks [Basirhat 1, Basirhat 2, Baduria, Swarupnagar, Hingalgunj, & Hasnabad] and Minakha Mahakuma will have four blocks [Sandeskhali 1, Sandeskhali 2, Haroa, & Minakha].

Alipurduar District of West Bengal: - A proposal has been submitted to divide Jalpaiguri district and to form Alipurduar District in North Bengal.

Jhargram District of West Bengal: - Paschim Medinipore (West Midnapore) district of West Bengal would get divided to form another district named ‘Jhargram District’.

Asansol – Durgapur District of West Bengal: - It has been proposed to form Asansol-Durgapur District by dividing Burdwan district of West Bengal.

So, in near future, the number of districts in West Bengal could be increased by four if above mentioned proposed New Districts of Bengal get approval from Government.
Please Share It :
Next Article Next Article KBI Home
K.B.I. : Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Contact us - Sitemap - Proudly hosted by BigRock
Copyright © 2009-2012. Kolkata Bengal Information - All Rights Reserved
Career with us Join as Content Writer (Reporter).
Proudly powered by Bigrock.